Staff Profile: Jean Adkins

Jean is one of the friendly faces at our Information desk during the afternoons. Her computer expertise is particularly valuable to us.

image0000
Jean and her dogs

What do you do at the Library?
I am a Library Assistant. I help patrons find the resources they need, or get them with a librarian for further assistance. I also assist patrons with the computers, software, and printers. My extra duties include working on the libraries financial accounts and maintaining usage statistics for our various databases.
How did you gain your expertise?
During my military career, I was exposed to various computer systems and a wide range of people. This background helps in my interactions with our patrons. Since my retirement from the Air Force, I have worked with maintaining computer systems and as support staff for a university’s online program, which gave me experience in the educational environment.
What is uniquely helpful to your work here? 
I attended college courses pretty much my entire military career. So, I can relate to students who are juggling work, school, and other responsibilities. This experience also taught me how important it is to keep the mind active and always learning.
What is your favorite thing to do outside the Library?
Outside the library, I enjoy playing with my dogs, reading, and getting involved with church activities.
What is a favorite book or website you would recommend?
I do not have a favorite book. I read a wide variety of books, but tend to like mysteries the most. Since I like needlework projects, I check out the Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center website a lot.

“Happily Ever After” Birthday

IMG_3392The folk tales collected by the Grimm brothers in nineteenth-century Germany are still culturally influential. Their work also helped define scholarship in folklore throughout the world, and proved the importance of oral traditions.

In honor of Jakob Grimm’s birthday on January 4th, Library Assistant David Rudny Winn has put together a display of our books on folk tales and folklore, including collections, analysis, and the relatively new categories of urban legends and media memes. You can check any of these books out.

Spotlight on Criminal Justice, Public Safety, and Legal Studies

IMG_3393On display this semester are our resources for Criminal Justice, Public Safety, and Legal/Paralegal Studies. The bulletin board outside the library gives a hint of what is at your fingertips: government agency reports, scholarly analyses, commentary, professional manuals, test preparation for public safety officers and firefighters, and more. We provide access to all this through specialized databases as well as streaming video collections demonstrating techniques, discussing issues, and case studies. We have hundreds of eBooks in these areas which are constantly updated. All can be accessed at any time through the library home page; just log in with your Ivy Tech credentials.

This display was created by Cassondra Graves, our talented student assistant, who graduated in December 2017 with a degree in Visual Communication. Thank you and good luck, Cassondra!

Welcome to Spring term 2018!

bigstock-Merry-Christmas-and-happy-New--211732684 copy
Yes, it is spring — in the academic calendar at least.

The Library’s mission is to help you have the most successful semester ever! We would like to extend a special invitation to Dual Credit students (and teachers) to use our resources. Research assistance is just part of what we offer:

Do you need computer access? Read more

Do you need help navigating IvyLearn or MyIvy? Our staff will guide you. We also assist with using Microsoft Word, Excel, and Powerpoint; using different browsers; email; printing and scanning documents.

Looking for a quiet place to read or study? Read more

Looking for a tutor? We host the CAE English and Math tutoring on Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Waiting for your textbooks? You can read Reserve copies in the Library. If you don’t see yours listed, use the online form in the link above to request it be added. Professors can add books to course Reserves at any time during the semester. Having a reserve copy available means all students can do the assigned readings.

We have several dozen new books on current issues. Each is shelved in the area relevant to the issue covered, but you can search the series titles in IvyCat: Thinking Critically, Issues in Society, Digital Issues, Cell Phones and Society.

We have over 150 databases that our vendors update, so instructors should check the resources and links you have used in the past. Our librarians are skilled in searching and a consultation will save you time. If we don’t have a book or article, our Inter-Library Loan clerk will request a copy you can borrow.

Have time for some recreational reading? Browse our local and national newspapers, popular magazines, or new bestseller print books. This month’s titles include poetry, mysteries, and science fiction.

New Children’s Books for January

I Have a Balloon by Ariel Bernstein; Scott Magoon (Illustrator)

I Have a Balloon by Ariel Bernstein; Scott Magoon (Illustrator)Owl has a red balloon. Monkey does not. “That red balloon matches my shiny red tie,” says Monkey. “I’d look fancy walking to school with a shiny red balloon. The only thing I’ve ever wanted, since right now, is a shiny, big red balloon. It would make me SO HAPPY!” But Owl does not want to give it to him. So Monkey tries to find something that Owl wants: a teddy bear, a robot, a picture of TEN balloons. Owl does not want any of these things. But then, Monkey offers him…a sock! Hmmmmm…Owl is intrigued. Will he trade his shiny red balloon with Monkey? Hint: this is not a book about sharing.

Birds by Bridget Heos; David Clark (Illustrator)

Birds by Bridget Heos; David Clark (Illustrator)

What animals compose music, decorate their homes, weave, and even give gifts? BIRDS! While they may eat bugs and lay eggs, we actually have a lot in common with these winged creatures. From their parenting to their homemaking, their fishing to their dancing, birds do have lots in common with people–though with fascinating twists all their own. Factual and funny–and featuring a dynamic mix of photographs and cartoon illustrations–Just Like Us! Birds will charm even the most reluctant nonfiction readers.

Read the Book, Lemmings! by Ame Dyckman; Zacharia OHora (Illustrator)

Read the Book, Lemmings! by Ame Dyckman; Zachariah OHora (Illustrator)

The team behind the New York Times bestselling Wolfie the Bunny and Horrible Bear! is back with with new Arctic characters in this hilarious learning-to-read adventure! Aboard the S.S. Cliff, First Mate Foxy reads an interesting fact: “Lemmings don’t jump off cliffs.” But Foxy can’t get the lemmings on the Cliff to read his book, too. They’re too busy jumping off. After a chilly third rescue, exasperated Foxy and grumbly polar bear Captain PB realize their naughty nautical crew isn’t being stubborn: The lemmings (Jumper, Me Too, and Ditto) can’t read. And until Foxy patiently teaches his lemmings to read the book, he can’t return to reading it, either!

I Want That Nut! by Madeline Valentine

9781101940372

A nutty and clever buddy story that celebrates cooperation, perfect for fans of Duck and Goose. Meet Mouse and Chipmunk, two young rodents who want the same thing–a big, beautiful nut! But who deserves it more? After all, Chipmunk and the Nut read together and lie in the grass and stare at the clouds. Chipmunk wants that nut! And Mouse and the Nut play tic-tac-toe and have a dance party together. Mouse also wants that nut!   But then Squirrel comes along and claims the Nut for his own. What’s a rodent to do?

Robinson by Peter Sís

robinson

A boy who loves adventure. A mysterious solo journey. A remote island wilderness. Cast away in this beautiful dreamlike story and discover what surprises await. Peter Sís blends a true story from his childhood with the fictional adventure of Robinson Crusoe to create a magical picture book filled with heart and imagination that readers will want to return to again and again.