Category Archives: Databases

Universal Human Rights Month

Following the atrocities of the Second World War, precedents were set to prevent a third. On December 10, 1948, the United Nations General Assembly codified one such precedent: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The document consists of 30 articles intended to define and represent the rights and dignity everyone is entitled to share.

In 2001, the anniversary of the declaration was expanded into a week-long holiday. In recent years, that holiday grew to span the entire month of December. Ideally, the declaration would foster a year-round practice. Until then, even when faced with opposition, consider representing the best in all of us by embracing our shared humanity. After all, we already know that–regardless of our race, religion, culture, or beliefs–more is shared between us than divides.

Further Reading:

Documents used to draft the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

The Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union
Celebrating its 10th anniversary December 1, 2019!

Global Bioethics and Human Rights: contemporary issues
Available at Ivy Tech Fort Wayne Library!

The Paris Agreement : climate change, solidarity, and human rights
Find more eBooks on Ivy Tech Library’s catalog website, IvyCat!

Taking Sides in Peacekeeping: impartiality and the future of the United Nations
Request this and other books found at Ivy Tech libraries outside Fort Wayne here with our Interlibrary Loan service!


A Brief Guide to Help Finish Your Paper

Imagine, if you will, you have a paper due tomorrow. The paper will not only decide whether you pass the class; the class is contingent upon your graduation. To make matters worse, despite your desperate situation, the paper’s subject only encourages you to procrastinate, and you have convinced yourself that the increasing pressure to finish will help you focus in the two hours before the paper needs to be submitted. Maybe your situation is not this dire, but it may feel that way. Here are some tips to make starting or finishing a little less panic inducing.

  1. As long as it is within the boundaries of your assignment, write the paper that would capture your attention. Keep it academic, but take liberties; tell a story with your thesis; get creative. Think about why you are not connecting to the subject and use your perspective as a way to critically analyze the topic.
  2. Collect your sources ahead of time. Even if you have yet to write anything else, add all the references you intend to include in your paper. Think about how each reference supports your thesis and organize them accordingly throughout what will be your introduction, body, and conclusion. All you would need to do is then combine and support each with your own ideas.
  3. Remember how relieved you were when you last finished a paper? The final product might have even impressed you. It was not a fluke. The same prospects apply this time. Don’t let pressure cloud your impression. You wrote that paper, and you will do it again.

If preparation is less of a problem for you, but you would like to improve your writing, the following titles might interest you. Thanks to the library’s collection of eBooks, you do not even need to leave the comfort of your home to benefit from our selection.

10 Steps to Successful Business Writing, 2nd Edition
The Student Guide to Writing
Seven Steps to Confident Writing
Writing Fantastic Fiction

Find those and other books on any academic subject you need through Ivy Tech Library’s catalog database, IvyCat!

NATIVE AMERICAN HERITAGE MONTH

This November, please join us in celebrating Native American heritage!

Help us tell all Americans’ stories. Of the many Native Americans spotlighted at Ivy Tech Library, the three below are often regarded as exceptional. Stop by this month to collect one of their bookmarks!

Ben Nighthorse Campbell
U.S. Senator

Born in 1933 of a Portuguese immigrant mother and Northern Cheyenne father, Campbell is one of 44 chiefs of the Northern Cheyenne Tribe. He earned a degree in physical education and fine arts after serving in the U.S. Air force from 1951-1953. He served in the Colorado State Legislature before being elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1987. He won his bid to become a senator in 1992 and won re-election in 1998.

Henry, C. Ben Nighthorse Campbell: Cheyenne Chief and U.S. Senator. Broomall, PA: Chelsea House, 1994.

Maria Tallchief
Prima Ballerina

From 1947 to 1960, Maria Tallchief performed with the New York City Ballet, gaining prima ballerina status. Later she danced with the American Ballet Theatre, returning to the New York City Ballet in 1963 until her retirement in 1965. But she didn’t retire from dance. She directed the Lyric Opera Ballet of Chicago and founded the Chicago City Ballet in 1981. She was the latter’s artistic director through 1987.

Tallchief, Maria and Kaplan, L. Maria Tallchief: America’s Prima Ballerina. New York: Henry Holt, 1997.

Winona LaDuke
Activist, Author

A member of the Anishinaabeg (Ojibew) tribe, Winona LaDuke’s activism dates back to her teens. At age 18 she spoke before the United Nations about Indian issues. While at Harvard earning an economics degree, she worked with grassroots Native American organizations in various states. After graduation, she moved to the White Earth reservation in northern Minnesota, where she lives today with her family.

LaDuke, Winona. All Our Relations: Native Struggles for Land and Life. Cambridge, Mass.: South End Press, 1999. Ms. Magazine, April/May 2001, pp. 46-53.

Find the following eBooks on Ivy Tech Library’s catalog website, IvyCat!

I am where I come from: Native American college students and graduates tell their life stories

Plundered Skulls and Stolen Spirits: Inside the Fight to Reclaim Native America’s Culture

Indigenous Pop: Native American Music from Jazz to Hip Hop

Follow the official celebration here:

How to Save Your Ebook Central Bookshelf

On June 19th, your Ivy Tech access to Ebook Central will change.

If you use the Bookshelf feature, your books will not be saved. You must download the list of books on your Bookshelf before the change, and then restock your shelves (so to speak).

It’s easy to download a bibliography. If you have not used the feature before, follow these steps:

Open Ebook Central, Sign in, and go to your Bookshelf. Select a folder to open it.

At the top, click Select All to select all the books in this folder. At the very top, click the giant quotes icon to Cite Folder

screenshot-ebookcentral-proquest-com.fortwayne.libproxy.ivytech.edu-2019.06.11-13-31-10

The following dialog box will open

screenshot-ebookcentral-proquest-com.fortwayne.libproxy.ivytech.edu-2019.06.11-13-27-02

Click the Export button and save the .txt file where you want it. You can change its name – the default is “citations” – but leave it as a .txt file for best results.

Now go to where you saved it, right click on it, and choose Open With Word 2016.

EBC5

Your document will look like this, with each book citation in a paragraph flush left. (It’s not perfect, there is not a line space between two of my citations; but usable for the purpose.)

EBC6

June is Great Outdoors month

Gene Stratton-Porter Arbor, Rome City, IN. Photo courtesy of Nicole Treesh

Before you head outdoors, come into the Library and check out our resources for outdoor recreation, outdoor research, and outdoor careers. We have suggestions for all ages and interests:

  • Outdoor activities for kids in Fort Wayne City
  • Guides to Indiana State Parks, and National Parks
  • Wildlife and woodlot management
  • River, lakes, and wetlands ecology

Did you know that public parks are the sites of many, and various, research projects? Check out our showcase of articles, including studies of glaciers, slime molds, predator-prey ecology, erosion control, pest control, human behavior, health effects of outdoor recreation, and more.

You can access data from national parks by visiting the websites of the National Park Service. For photographs and other non-text artifacts, use https://museum.nps.gov For texts (research reports, teaching resources, maps, etc.) use the NPS Library website – it is clunky but has links out to all the parks.

A great new resource is the Open Parks Network. When complete, this database will link all the National Parks digitized collections; currently, representation is mostly from the southeast. Users can search in this one place to find collections of interest, rather than going to multiple websites. For example: Civil War maps from Fort Sumter, moths of Congaree National Park, political memorabilia from the Jimmy Carter National Historic site. Also linked are research reports by national parks staff.

Remember, our databases can be accessed 24/7/365 so you can take your reading with you to the beach, woods, or Indiana State Parks.

Books can be checked out when the library is open. Our summer semester hours are:

  • Mondays-Thursdays 7:45 a.m. to 8:45 p.m.
  • Fridays 7:45 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.

See you on the trails!

Pepper, an elderly Cairn Terrier, enjoys the River Greenway. Photo by Ann Spinney.

November’s Commemorations

The month of November seems especially rich in historical commemorations, starting on November 1st when Christians celebrate All Saints Day. Guy Fawkes Day on November 5th recalls England’s struggle for religious freedom, and November 19th is the anniversary of Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address during the American Civil War. During this month we honor our Native American heritage, especially on Thanksgiving; hold elections; and honor our veterans. The Library of Congress has many resources for students of all ages to explore these topics.

A newly digitized collection of 14 historical newspapers published in Native communities is gathered in the database Chronicling America. These range from coast to coast and cover nearly a century: 1828 to 1922. Many include transcriptions in Native languages along with English language articles that reveal the points of view and concerns of their communities. Try reading the Cherokee writing that Sequoya invented!

Veterans’ Day was originally Armistice Day, celebrating the end of the Great War, which later became known as World War I. November 11th, 2018 will mark 100 years since the cessation of hostilities.  Several divisions of the Library of Congress have contributed short introductions highlighting items from their collections relevant to this occasion.

One of the most moving eulogies to veterans is President Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address. View an autograph manuscript copy from the Library of Congress collections.

We have books on all these topics available for checkout. This month we are displaying children’s books on Native American heritage and Thanksgiving. As you enter the library, look over our showcase of Agriculture resources in the hallway. We hope to see you soon!

IMG_3741a

Alert: National Guideline Clearinghouse taken down

The National Guideline Clearinghouse, used by many health practitioners to determine care recommendations, has lost its funding. The website goes down today, July 16th, and may or may not be replaced. Read the announcement

The NGC was an open-access database administered by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, part of the U.S. Health and Human Services administration. We will watch for developments on this important resource.