Nothing to do? Watch our new Films on Demand collection at home. Just log in through Campus Connect, click on the library tab and find Films on Demand under our A to Z list. This collection is truly addictive! It is also educational, with hundreds of videos on all kinds of subjects, like Health & Medicine, Careers & Job Search, selected 20/20 episodes, and much more.
Take home books to read, add a puppet or two, and put on a show at home.Find summer reading for your kids. The Library has around 5,000 books for children. You can also check out children’s music CDs and magazines like Turtle, Ladybug, National Geographic Kids, Ranger Rick, and Your Big Backyard.We also have books for ideas for children’s activities, games, crafts, etc. You can view our puppet collection at: http://ivytechlibraryftwpuppets.wordpress.com/
Edited by Trischa Mann
The Australian Law Dictionary is the best reference for those who want familiarity with, and knowledge of, Australian legal terms. Clear, relevant and well-pitched definitions explain the meaning of Australian legal terms and for those interested in contextualising these terms further and exploring legal concepts in more depth, more information and detailed in-text cross references are provided.
Edited by Clifford J. Rogers
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. Approximately 1,000 articles written and signed by leading experts in medieval military history provide an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States from 500 C.E. to 1500.
Edited by Robert E. Bjork
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is an essential new reference work covering all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. It is designed both for medievalists, who need a detailed and reliable reference tool, and for students and general readers seeking an accessible guide to the period. Over 800 scholars have assembled thousands of comprehensive entries, lavishly supplemented by hundreds of illustrations and dozens of maps.
Edited by F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo
From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anticolonialist movements of Pan Africanism and Negritude, The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
EBSCOhost customers can now enjoy the expansion of multilanguage searching in EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) and EBSCOhost® to include over forty-five (45) languages. This means that users will experience improved search results in both EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) and EBSCOhost databases.
Continued improvements support multilingual capabilities for non-Roman character set languages including Arabic, Greek, Hebrew, Russian and others. Additional improved searching in complex languages, and advanced support for non-Roman languages (Chinese, Japanese and Korean) are also being addressed. For example, phrases or sentences in languages such as Chinese, Japanese and Korean are commonly written without spaces between words. Some languages contain multiple scripts per language, and there are regional and historical variations to consider. EBSCO has created a system to handle these variations among character sets and offers unparalleled searching in these non-Roman languages.
Supporting multiple languages with non-Roman characters is a challenge with most online search services in the library marketplace. EBSCO Publishing’s Senior Director of Software Development, Ron Burns, noted that “EBSCO knew it had to develop a custom solution that addressed the needs of a global and diverse customer base, and became an essential element of the continued development of the EBSCOhost platform.”
- Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices, M.E. Sharpe
- Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology, Hodder Education
- The Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History, M.E. Sharpe
- The Essentials of Global Politics, Hodder Education
- The World of Child Labor: An Historical and Regional Survey, M.E. Sharpe
The all-new ProQuest platform is designed to deliver the right content, in the right place, at the right time.
From simple to advanced searches, users can see the big picture across format types as well as modify search options to full-text content and/or scholarly journals (1). Helpful suggestions are provided by ProQuest Smart Search (3).
Users can set up alerts, create RSS feeds, and save searches in My Research (2) as well as cite and export references plus email (4)—all from the Results page.
The results list uses icons to indicate the content format at a glance (5) and Full Text PDF and Citation icons—plus check boxes (9) to mark items to save, print, or share via email or social networking. Optional hit-term highlighting makes it easy to scan results quickly (7). And now, users can preview the content without ever leaving the Results page via a light box (8)! In addition, images—such as tables, charts, and more—are provided right in the results with links to the image in context in the article (10).
With the cool new collapsible sidebar (6), users can quickly sort and narrow results by source type, subject heading, date, etc. And the visual date trail histogram shows the content that is available according to a range of dates.
The enhanced Results page is just one example of how the all-new ProQuest platform is creating the best search and discovery experience in the industry.